Posts Tagged ‘Album Review’

Trevor Nelson

The third instalment of Trevor Nelson’s compilations has recently been released and as expected it contains some of our most loved soulful R and B grooves of the last few decades. With everything from Sister Sledge to Michael Jackson, and Eternal to Pharrell Williams, this is a worthy addition to any R and B collection.


Without a doubt, Disclosure’s album “Settle” is the best album release of 2013. With a host of guest stars featuring on the album including: Jesse Ware, AlunaGeorge, Jamie Woon, Sam Smith, Ed McFarlane of Friendly Fires and Eliza Doolittle, this album is far from the simple deep house collection I was expecting. Despite their distinctive sound, the duo have highlighted their flare for incorporating a versatile array of styles from blurred synth chords, early-house baselines, classic beats of two-step garage, to contemporary sounds of current dance music, and this is what makes this debut an absolute winner with the masses. As noted in NME “Disclosuremania is clearly about to sweep the nation” and I am ready to be swept along with it!

Launched by jungle pioneer Shy FX as “a new platform for good music, not necessarily genre specific,” Digital Soundboy has established itself as one of the UK’s most exciting labels. Combining Shy’s experience with the expertise and enthusiasm of label-mates Breakage and B. Traits, FABRICLIVE 63 reflects the musical vision of the label and its parties, taking in a staggering 49 tracks for a breakneck tear-up through funk, house, dubstep, dancehall and drum & bass.

“Digital Soundboy’s edition is a near-genius mash of everything good about modern dance music – one of the best FABRICLIVE comps ever.” – DJ Mag

Click here to order your copy.



01 Nina Simone – Funkier Than A Mosquito’s Tweeter [Sony]
02 Bloodfire – Gumbai [Digital Soundboy]
03 Zed Bias – Heavy Water Riddim [Digital Soundboy]
04 M.A.N.D.Y. vs Booka Shade – Body Language [Kammermeier & Merziger]
05 Justin Martin & Ardalan – LEZGO [dirtybird]
06 Roska – The Oracle [Rinse]
07 Seiji – Face Up [seijimusic]
08 Artwork – Red [Big Apple]
09 Baxta – Do Without You [Cheap Thrills]
10 Pangaea – Hex [Hemlock]
11 Tickles – Grinding [Roska Kicks & Snares]
12 Youngstar – Formula 2 [DDJ’s Productions]
13 Bok Bok – Silo Pass [Night Slugs]
14 Nightdrugs feat. Moona – Higher (Skanky Remix) [Nightdrugs / Moona]
15 Skream – Wobble That Gut [Tempa]
16 Breakage – Telepathy [Digital Soundboy]
17 The Others feat. Rod Azlan – Total Recall [Dub Police]
18 North Base – Fright Night [New State]
19 Dismantle – Warp [Digital Soundboy]
20 Breakage – Higher [Digital Soundboy]
21 Clare Maguire – Ain’t Nobody (Breakage’s Suck It Up Mix) [Polydor]
22 Roska – 480 BC [Tectonic]
23 Skream – Filth [Tempa]
24 Dismantle – Displaced [Digital Soundboy]
25 Redlight – Source 16 [Digital Soundboy]
26 Dismantle – More Funk [Digital Soundboy]
27 Baxta – Baby Girl [Cheap Thrills]
28 Dark Sky – Neon [50WEAPONS]
29 Die & Mensah – Firing Line [Gutterfunk]
30 Buraka Som Sistema – Hangover (BaBaBa) [Enchufada]
31 Skream – Daim [Digital Soundboy]
32 Breakage feat. Newham Generals & David Rodigan – Hard [Digital Soundboy]
33 Breakage feat. David Rodigan – Together [Digital Soundboy]
34 Die & Break feat. MC Fats & Bugsy – Peace & Dub [Digital Soundboy]
35 Shy FX feat. Kano, Donae’o & Roses Gabor – Raver (Shy’s Guinness Punch Mix) [Digital Soundboy]
36 Musical Youth – Pass The Dutchie [Universal]
37 Mighty Diamonds, Mr Williamz & Yellowman – Pass The Kouchie [Necessary Mayhem]
38 Die & Break – Grand Funk Hustle [Digital Soundboy]
39 Benny Page – Turn Down The Lights [Digital Soundboy]
40 A Sides – One DJ [Clearskyz]
41 dBridge – Little Things [Metalheadz]
42 Breakage feat. Roots Manuva – Run Em Out [Digital Soundboy]
43 Die & Break – Tear Down VIP [Digital Soundboy]
44 Breakage feat. Jess Mills – Fighting Fire (dBridge Remix) [Digital Soundboy]
45 Dub Phizix & Skeptical feat. Strategy – Marka [Exit]
46 Dizzee Rascal – Jus’ A Rascal (Soundboy Special) [XL]
47 Gyptian – Hold You (Shy FX & Benny Page Digital Soundboy Remix) [Ministry of Sound]
48 Rene LaVice – Headlock [Ram]
49 Shy FX & UK Apachi – Original Nuttah [Williams / Lafta]

Blessed with a soulful voice that combines a Hackney Cockney and Irish twang, with a faux-Jamaican accent, 21-year-old Maverick Sabre is fast coming becoming one of the best male UK solo artists. I first heard Maverick Sabre on BBC2 live from Glastonbury and I was utterly entranced by his unique and distinctive style, so I couldn’t be more pleased that his talents are being recognised. He first come to attention fronting abrasive slabs of dub step by Chase and Status and Professor Green, however appearing to move away from the harder bass, there is little in the way of bleeps and wobbles on his debut album Lonely Are the Brave. This album is authentic, heartfelt and socially conscious.  Switching between genres from bassy trip-hop to reggae, and mid-90s neo soul to orchestral hip-hop, this album certainly showcases his talents and is without a doubt one for the collection. I am always dumbfounded when Sabre’s voice or style is criticised…he is the real deal, a rare and unique musical talent completely distinctive in style, and I am very excited to see what else he pulls out the bag in 2012.  

Newsflash! Maverick is playing in London alongside Miss Dynamite at the Camden Roundhouse on 10th March. Follow link for tickets:
His U.K tour kicks off on 1st March at the O2 Academy, Glasgow.

Lonely Are The Brave  [follow link to HMV page] is out now on Mercury Records.